Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Show your custom built,hand built amps/cabs...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by VS, Jan 31, 2004.

1. VS

VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    Discounted Gear: Peavey
    I'm interested. :smug: -Luke

2. I've posted this before but since you asked, here's a pic of the 2 x 12" sealed cab I built to use with my 1971 bassman head for practising. It's the same dimentions as the Fender Pro-Sonic extention cab - sounds great with a passive bass.

3. VS

VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    Very nice Bassmaniac! Did you have it made for you,or did you do it yourself? -Luke

4. I made it myself in my garage. I used to work in the speaker building industry at one stage, so the experience has come in handy. I made it from 17mm ( about 3/4" ) waterproof ply and used 2 x 100 watt P-Audio speakers wired in stereo so that my amp sees 4 ohms. Cost $300 Australian all up for parts and materials. It has a nice warm "compressed" sound to it which sounds great when playing Motown or classic rock. :)

5. VS

VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    You should start making and selling some!! :D -Luke

6. Here's mine. Armadillo Ampworks custom-made 2x15 combo with Altec Lansing 421A's and a 50 Watt Fender Bassman chassis.

Chris

[​IMG]

7. VS

VS

Jun 6, 2002
    Mountain City, Tennessee
    Sweet! :D

8. TxBass

TxBass

Jul 3, 2002
    Frisco, Texas
    I built these two cabs about a year ago out of some scrap wood I got from a cabinet maker. They don't get much use cause I use the heck out of my Avatar 4x10...but occasionally I drag them out for fun.

9. Petebass

Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Let me guess - you bought them from Daniel at Cannon Sound in Brookvale? Top bloke! Great business he's got there.