Sickest Jazz Song or Cd!!

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by metalguy2, Aug 31, 2005.

1. metalguy2

Dec 26, 2004
    Here post names of obscure jazz music that kicks ass. Forget milestones like Giant Steps, Jaco Pastorius, or Bitches Brew, Weather Report. Forget Victor Wooten exists, and that Stu Hamm was ever born. Steve Smith was never in Journey.. Who is Medeski Martin and Wood?! Allan Holdsworth who?
    POST AWAY!!!

Don't forget to link me to MP3's :p
  2. Adam Barkley

Adam Barkley Mayday!

Aug 26, 2003
    Jackson, MS
  3. Syeknom

Oct 17, 2004
    Leuven, Belgium
    I'm seriously digging the work of a band called Esbjörn Svensson Trio, but i'm relatively new to jazz outside of the legends =P
  4. pauljacksonfan

Jun 14, 2005
    EST is the shiznaz (or something like that). You just gotta love Dan Berglund's bowed, distorted upright parts. And the interplay is simply amazing. Catch them live, if you haven't already, you won't regret it.

I like them cause they're so far from the standard jazz trio. You could apply Weather Report's old slogan "we always solo and we never solo" to them.
    Definitly a +1 on this one.
  5. Lewis7789

Sep 17, 2004
    Akron, Ohio USA
    Sales; ClearSonic Mfg.
  6. jerry

jerry Doesn't know BDO Gold Supporting Member

Dec 13, 1999
    + 1 for Fima Ephron! He has a great original voice on his instrument :bassist: Matt Garrison is another....just plain deep!
    I'm old.....I don't do MP3's.....I go to used C.D. shops ;)
  7. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

I realy wouldn't consider it as really obscure and I know The Rippingtons are considered Jazz 'light' but they did a song called "Curves Ahead" that I consider genius! I've never heard a song like it before nor since!
  8. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Really? How so?
    I haven't played Lunar Crush in about a year...I do recall a lot of it to be Rockin'.