1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

sightreading issues

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassinplace, Apr 7, 2009.

1. bassinplace

bassinplace

Dec 1, 2008
    Hello,

I'm studying out of the Hal Leonard Bass Method book right now and having some problems with sight reading. I seem to have a problem with moving forward at a steady pace without looking back. I keep catching mistakes and the going back to correct them. Part of the reason is I psyche myself out to make a mistake which causes me to then make said mistake. I found a link on you tube which I actually thought was pretty helpful, here it is if anyone's interested:

The thing that killed me is right off the bat one of the first things he stresses is to never, ever, go back when sight reading and to always keep a forward momentum. Looks like I've developed some bad technique here. Any tips on how to break it? Like I said, I just can't stand the thought of playing something wrong!

2. southernrocker

southernrocker Banned

Apr 4, 2009
    I don't know if your in school or anything, but if there is a jazz band or something of that sort to get into, do it. Look for something to kind of "force" you to learn. I joined my high schools jazz band and I could read, but not well. The pressure to lay down a good groove and stay in time with everyone else forced me to become a good sightreader. Get in a group or something to force you to sight read.
    Good Luck, and hang in there!

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA