1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sign of the times; From Boutiques down to Budget basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bassconbeatz, Feb 5, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Bassconbeatz

Bassconbeatz Way down low Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Porter Ranch, CA
    As a long time member, I've gone through so many builders both new and used basses. I have to admit, buying a high priced boutique has it positives. The craftsmanship, the rareness and the high price point. I really love those but now with another looming recession upon us, I've gone almost completely budget. I still have my Spector US Coda, which are not as pricey as a Fodera, but hey, it's pretty damn nice. Spector has always been my dream bass, when I started playing many ions ago. I recently purchased a KDS Chinese build and also an Ibanez Portomento. I have to admit these Asian built basses are pretty good for the price point; especially the Ibanez. I was wonder how many of us Tb's have gone back to the good ol' budget minded beauties.

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    I've been crazy nuts I'm gonna sell all my basses in love with my new Rickenbacker that people must be getting sick of hearing about... but I took my Ibanez TMB300 to a rehearsal last week, and if I was forced to use only that bass for some god forsaken reason - I'd be fine.

3. twinjet

twinjet Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Sep 23, 2008