Silencing the EUB between tunes

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by csrund, Oct 20, 2016.

1. I'm new to the EUB and will be using an Eminence to replace my traditional fretless electric for church services. Between songs, it was easy to silence the electric by spinning the volume knob down, but the EUB has no such controls. I'm sitting a few feet away from the amp, so it's not practical to pot it up and down throughout the service.

So, question: Is there an on/off device (e.g. foot switch) anyone recommends that can be patched between the bass and amp? (I bought a Fender foot switch on eBay thinking it was the device I was after; turns out I was mistaken.)

Thanks for the help!

2. jthisdell

jthisdell

Jun 12, 2014
    Roanoke, VA
    What kind of preamp are you using? I use a Radial Bassbone OD Preamp with a mute switch. You could also use an A/B switch with nothing plugged into the other channel.

lamarjones and MrLenny1 like this.
  3. Bisounourse

Bisounourse

Jun 21, 2012
    Gent, Belgium
    A volume pedal (it does more or less the same thing as a volume knob on a BG)
    A tuner; stomp it and it will mute, on the plus side you can even retune when necessary.

jthisdell likes this.
  4. Steve Boisen

Steve Boisen Your first second choice™ Supporting Member

Dec 3, 2003
    Tampa Bay, FL
    I use a Planet Waves Circuit Breaker cable with my Eminence bass...or any instrument that doesn't have an on-board volume control.

- Steve

MrLenny1 likes this.
  5. Ross Kratter

Ross Kratter Gold Supporting Member

Dec 31, 2010
    New York, NY
    Artist, RS Berkeley, La Bella Strings, Phil Jones Bass Amplification, Remic, 64 Audio
    Volume pedal or tuner will do the trick.

6. Up and Away

Up and Away

May 16, 2015