Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Simple B string question that I should be able to answer myself....

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Joe Nerve, Sep 2, 2005.

1. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I'm still new to that 5th string. I have a bunch packs of 4 strings laying around, and I'm going to go purchase single Bs. Would a thinner B string be more defined than a thicker? Me thinks so. But I'm not 100% sure.

2. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    I think it'd be the other way around as thicker strings have higher tension, which is crucial for clean-sounding low notes. I think Billy Sheehan likes to detune his E string to D and uses a 110 E string so the low D has enough definition.

3. Joe Nerve

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Then why is the E string more definable than the B. Hmmm... maybe cuz it's a higher note? Jeeez..... I need a difinitive answer!!!!

4. ladros2

ladros2

Jun 2, 2005
    Ireland
    Thicker string= More tension= More focused sound+tighter string. :)

5. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    Okay then. Personally, I find that the thicker the B string, the better and more defined the sond. Personally, I'd go no lower than 125. Better? :p

6. Joe Nerve

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    No. Not quite there yet. Get rid of the "personally"s amd the "I find"s. Ladros kinda has the idea.

7. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA

Not true. A thicker string does not equal more tension. The string has a stiffer feel, but not necessarily more tension.