1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Simple Muting Question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by AccolaStudios, Jul 27, 2012.

1. AccolaStudios

AccolaStudios

Nov 24, 2011
    Chicago
    This must seem little a total novice question. I'm working on learning scales, and for those that involve dropping to lower strings (ex. Eb Major on the 2nd string, 1st fret) I'm having trouble muting open strings. For example, in the scale mentioned above, I can move Eb F G Ab Bb C D Eb no problem. The problem occurs when I go in reverse. Starting on the 3rd string, 6th fret I'll go Eb D C Bb Ab G - this is where the problem occurs. When I go from the open G to F, I have trouble keeping the open G from ringing out. This occurs with other similar scales as well.

So...should I be using right or left hand techniques to mute that G when I'm done?

2. Gaius46

Gaius46

Dec 15, 2010
    Short answer is both are fine and to use whichever works best for you and the given situation.

I tend to mute opens with the right when moving up strings. Going from open D to any note on the G string just following through with the plucking finger and stopping it on D string feels most natural to me.

In the other direction I tend to really favor using a unused left hand finger to mute the open, especially if I'm going to need that finger to stop a note on that string next.

For example if playing a D# major arpeggio starting on the third G, I'd play the open G. Fret the D# with my i finger while muting the G with my pinky where the 3rd note of the arpeggio - A# is - and then play the A#.

I'll sometimes mute with my right hand in this situation but using the left hand again seems more natural to me.

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Check out the "Floating Thumb" technique.

4. t77mackie

t77mackie