Singing + Funky Basslines = Disaster!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by FreakWalrus, Oct 7, 2004.

1. FreakWalrus

Sep 27, 2004
    Gonzales, CA
    This is my first post here, ive been crusing around abit and ive got stacks of great tips already! Thanks all!

Ive been playing electric for about 4 years, been luck enough to do a bit of gigging and jamming in that time. In the last year ive been throwing together my own tracks using Guitar tracks pro and im getting to the stage where im really enjoying what im hearing. :bassist:

Im jamming with a guitarist and drummer who are way better than I and they are keen to jam out and maybe perform my songs!!!! but theres a catch.

I can only barely play and sing my parts if I do them at the same time! :crying:

I know the best answer is practice, practice, practice but ive been practicing hard this last 8months. Ive improved incredibly but im far off competently jamming them and years off performing them and I NEEEED A SHORTCUT!!!

The options ive considered so far have been:
    1. Getting another singer to cover me in the harder bass parts
    2. Getting another bass player to cover me in the harder singing
    3. Trying to palm off some of the funkiness to the guitarist
    4. Writing the hardest bass licks to CD and giving the drummer a click track (OK, im clutching at straws!)

Has anyone been in a similar situation?
    Any good advice?
  2. millard

Jul 27, 2004
    How about having the hardest singing and hardest bass parts be in mutually exclusive parts of the songs?

Typically, a singing guitarist will lay-off a bit when he is singing to avoid the same issues you are seeing. If it helps, it isn't just you.

It also makes perfect sense -- the lyrics should be coming through and not competing with the music (this may not apply to some musical styles :) ).