Singing/Playing simultaneously

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by NioeZero, Sep 13, 2001.

1. NioeZero

Sep 2, 2001
    Does anyone else here sing lead vocals and play bass? I'd like to take over lead vocals from my band's current singer, but I play relatively complex basslines, and I don't know how to get my brain to process both sets of information at the same time.

I've been playing bass for about 6 years, but never while singing. I can sing pretty decent on my own, but while playing bass, I tend to get tongue-tied, or my hands lose track of what they were doing.

Any tips? Exercises? Advice?

Thanks in advance.
  2. I would have to say that there are two things you could try. one being, on your own time, try to play bass and sing songs until you get it down, like simple songs, and then build your way up. or, the quicker way would be that you would have to focus yourself on the singing and not really pay attention to the notes you play and let your hands take care of that part. Bass and vocals usually don't go hand in hand for these things like guitars do. Hope that helps at all
  3. I can play rediculously fast if I dont think about the playing part (Ive played some of the tougher OpIvy songs and sang), but if you think about what your playing, youre gonna get lost, unless the song is slow or repetitive.
  4. ILikeToJam

Sep 22, 2001
    Avon, NY
    i've had the same problem for a while. my advice is to get the song down pat on bass first and then slowly build up the vocals. i've been doing that for quite some time now and even though i'm not perfect, it's greatly improved my ability to sing & play simultaniously.
  5. melvin

Apr 28, 2001
    Often during jazz band I have to start telling the guitarist the rythem (knows the chords not the rythem) in an area of a song, I usually have the bassline down really good so I dont need to focus on that, playing it is habitual, so its easy to talk.