1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Single speaker out of phase?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by lastnerve, Aug 27, 2012.

1. lastnerve

lastnerve

Jan 27, 2012
    Can a cab with a single 18" speaker (our sub-woofer) be wired out of phase? We recently had to replace the input jack and in the process accidentally pulled the connectors off the speaker. There are no markings on the speakers connectors to tell us which is pos or neg.

2. M.Mannix3

M.Mannix3

Jun 12, 2010
    I'm no expert but I believe out of phase when talking about speakers only happens when you have 2 or more speakers.

I think speakers are not polarized so it should be able to go on either way

3. yes it can! If you solder the tip wire to the sleeve and the sleeve wire to the tip it will be out of phase.

4. a way to find out is with a battery, take a wire and conect the tip to the + of the battery and with another wire the sleeve to the -. If the speaker membrane moves to the front it´s in phase, if it moves backward it´s out of phase.

5. lastnerve

lastnerve

Jan 27, 2012
    Okay, but I guess my question should have been "will a single speaker sound any different when it's out of phase?"

6. well yes it sounds different but it´s hard to say. The speaker is meant/constructed to work in phase.

You may have problems in conjunction with other speaker, like when you play with PA support....

7. lastnerve

lastnerve

Jan 27, 2012
    I'll try the battery test to make sure it's in phase. We tested the cab already with the connections both ways, but we couldn't discern any difference. However, as you said, it's meant to be in phase so it's best if we ensure that it is.

Thanks for the help.

8. wcriley

wcriley

Apr 5, 2010
    Western PA