1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sire Preamp on a Squier VM Jazz?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Aldon, Mar 23, 2021.

1. Aldon

Aldon

Apr 27, 2020
    Hey all :D I'm a beginner bassist and i got myself a Squier VM Jazz '77. Now i've been wanting to make it active for awhile cause i want it to be able to sound more 'modern' and 'clear', and i found myself a Sire preamp. Question is, will it fit on my bass, or will it even work at all? Will it affect the tone of my bass on neutral EQ?

On a side note, i found that running my bass through a DI (Hartke Bass attack VXL) and into an audio interface much brighter sounding than if i just plug it straight into the interface. Will i be needing the DI if i were to install the preamp? thanks a lot!

2. It’ll work in any bass.
    In your Squier, you’ll need to route in a side-jack and battery box. Also, make sure the module fits into the cavity, hopefully you won’t need to enlarge that.

3. Aldon

Aldon

Apr 27, 2020
    Great! I didn't consider the side jack issue as i didn't even notice i. :facepalm: thanks for the reply!

4. Ronnie Thunders

Ronnie Thunders

Oct 21, 2019
    Sounds crazy, I like it

5. MYLOWFREQ

MYLOWFREQ Supporting Member

May 13, 2011
    Regarding the second part of your question:

The Hartke Bass Attack is not only a DI, but an active preamp. Most active basses in the market have passive pickups w/ an onboard preamp. So, plugging your passive bass into a preamp is kind of the same thing as converting your bass into active. And of course different preamps have different freq points, thus they sound different. Will you be needing the DI if you were to install the preamp? Maybe yes, maybe not.. You'll be daisy chaining your Sire pre and Hartke pre which might or might not sound good, and that is completely subjective.

6. Aldon

Aldon

Apr 27, 2020