Sire V3 ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Modler, Dec 30, 2017.

1. Modler

Modler

Jan 16, 2017
    Denmark
    Does anyone know anything about this? It seems to be a mahogany version of the V7, but the price is a good chunk lower than the V7. It seems to exist on the Thomann webstore only, available for pre-order in several different colours, and even as 5-string:

https://www.thomann.de/gb/marcus_miller_v3_ma.htm
    https://www.thomann.de/dk/marcus_miller_v3_5_bk.htm

Edit: Different inlays, different pickups ("Marcus Standard" as opposed to "Marcus Super" and "Marcus Vintage" on the V7's)... it does indeed seem to be a cost down version of the V7.

Last edited: Dec 30, 2017
  2. Lesblues

Lesblues

Jan 2, 2018
    Hi, I'm new to Talk bass. I also saw the V3s on the Thomann website and contacted Sire via their Facook page.The guitar will be launched in February, details to be announced "soon". Apart from the preamp all the specs are different to the V7. That is as much as I could find out.

FingerDub and Modler like this.
  3. Modler

Modler

Jan 16, 2017
    Denmark
    Cool:cool:
    Now I'll just have to wait and see if they'll make a left handed version of it too:rolleyes:

4. V3 colors: mahogany red (pictured below), black, antique white, tobacco sunburst
    M2 colors: transparent blue, transparent black, also available in white pearl (+23-30 euros)
    Same price for these 2 models (275 euros incl. VAT in 4 strings), also available in 5 strings (+75 euros).
    Whether fretboards are either maple or rosewood (Dalbergia Latifolia, CITES-banned) is puzzling (descriptions do not match pictures).
    It seems Sire has decided to grab a share out of the Squier market.

12734432_800.jpg
    12732037_800.jpg

Last edited: Jan 2, 2018
  5. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)