Sire vs G&L vs Fender P basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by vbassmang, Jul 22, 2021.

1. vbassmang

vbassmang

Jul 22, 2021
    Hey there, it's my first time posting on Talkbass and it's because I think it's time for me to get my second professional level bass. I've been playing for quite a few years now initially playing through high school on an entry level ibanez but once it was time to go to uni I got a sire M7 and it's been great for gigging and recording, I absolutely love it.

However, visually it's not the most versatile and I'm always told I should get a P bass. I've been hankering for a second bass that's of good enough quality to record and reliably gig with so it makes to start looking at P's. Obviously Fenders are the first starting point but I really hate the look of the new player series and I don't want to pay more than £800 so I've been looking at three basses.

My top choice currently is the G&L sb-2 tribute (looked at the lb-100 but it was too heavy), and then the sire p7 and a second-hand fender active deluxe precision is a close second. I'm looking for something that is versatile and easy to play, but can easily get that classic P sound. Any recommendations and thoughts on the basses? What are people's thoughts on the basses?

If it helps, while these aren't necessary criterias, I would quite like either a PJ, or a five-string, or ideally a five-string PJ.

jee820 likes this.
  2. jd56hawk

jd56hawk Supporting Member

Sep 12, 2011
    The Garden State
    SB-2T.
    The others are completely off the radar.
    852770a5709ac857b52636304a551f32.jpg
    Yes, I know this is a USA-made G&L, but the stacked knob tone option is an easy mod.

Jim C, Kukulkan61, jeff7bass and 4 others like this.
  3. vbassmang

vbassmang

Jul 22, 2021