1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Six-string with good "out-of-the-box" action and overall quality?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by OldePhart, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Hey all, new guy here. :hyper:

I've been gigging with a Groove Tools GT-5 for about four years now. Love everything about it (it's one of the old ones, made in Korea and back when Bill was really "hands on" with them). Anyway, we've lost our rhythm guitar player and may or may not be replacing him soon, so I've been moving up into the treble strings and well up the neck to do some soft arpeggio fills when we don't need the thundering bass. I'm running out of notes!

I was twenty-seconds away from ordering a GT-7 (even though I really only want a six string) when I found some closeup pictures of the new ones. Holy-moly what a disappointment! Lets just say it was obvious from the pictures that these are not the same basses that came out of Korea. Honestly, until I did some more research and realized that those are indeed the "new" Groove Tools basses I thought the first pics I saw for a used one at MF were of a counterfeit somebody had sent back after ordering a real GT (it doesn't help that MF is still showing pictures of the "old" GT-line with the listings for the new basses)!

Anyway, I now understand why I'd seen a couple of recent reviews panning the fretwork on the GT basses - something that was completely at odds with my experience and expectations.

So, I'm now back to looking at 6-string basses and the field is open. I can spend about $1500 though I would prefer to keep it closer to around $1000. I realize in this price range most of the stuff I'd be seeing is also coming out of Indonesia just like the new Groove Tools basses do - but at least I won't constantly be lamenting the demise of the old GT!