Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Size problem?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Bronson Myers, Feb 24, 2002.

1. Bronson Myers

Bronson Myers

Feb 24, 2002
    OK, I am new to the DB, coming off of cello. I easily play a 4:4 cello, and I am also about 5'8"-10" tall (No tape measurer around to check). I am checking out the school bass tomorrow, and it is a 4:4, and I cannot afford to rent anything. If it is a horrible problem, I might be able to get in contact with the local High School and rent a 3:4 from them, but I doubt they have a 1:2 one them. So if there are any serious problems with playing a bass that big at my size, and if I will need a stool, or something of the like, please responde quickly! Thank you for your time. :rolleyes:

2. Bronson Myers

Bronson Myers

Feb 24, 2002
    Actually, I just got a call from a friend of mine, and now I am not sure if it is a 3:4, a 7:8, or a 4:4

What would be a 'full' size?

3. Bronson Myers

Bronson Myers

Feb 24, 2002
    No replies? :( I am kind of concerned, at least tell me it is alright to use that, I hate stepping into the great blue of bass playing without even a clue as to if what I'm going to be playing is unplayable! Sorry for the insensitivity, but I am very concerned.:rolleyes:

4. Hello Mr. Myers,
    A standard size Double Bass is..3/4. It is doubtful that the Bass in question is a full size "4/4". The 7/8 size is not as common as the 3/4 but they are out there. I myself have a 7/8. If you can find out the Brand of Bass and the Model number the fine folks here can tell you pretty much anything you need to know, but not knowing the type of Bass that can not happen. Look inside the F-hole and try and see a Makers Mark "tag". More than likely it is a poorly set up 3/4 with bad strings:rolleyes: I wish I could help you more....Later
    Dave

If the world didn`t suck we would all fall off.......