1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ska Bass playing

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bassmasta94, Apr 19, 2010.

1. bassmasta94

bassmasta94

Jul 21, 2009
    Connecticut
    Hey guys, i dont know if im putting this post in the right place, but, i have recently been listening to ska music, and i really like it. I am a pretty experienced bassist, but have never really experimented with creating, and playing my own ska bass lines. If you guys have any tips, or suggestions on what i can do to improve my ska chops, it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Dean

2. JackANSI

JackANSI

Sep 12, 2006
    PA
    Only thing I can say is to put the beat first and notes second.. But everyone you ask will have something else to say so its probably best to just do it your way (and figure that out over time with a band).

3. adube810

adube810

Mar 6, 2008
    Brooklyn, NY
    8th note walks with 16th note flourishes?

4. sublimestylee

sublimestylee

Aug 26, 2007
    Seattle, Wa
    Triads are a huge part of ska bass