1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ska bassist new to the pedal game. Please HELP!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by asawisemansaid, Jan 3, 2012.

1. asawisemansaid

asawisemansaid

Jan 3, 2012
    Hey all.
    I am a bassist in a ska/punk band with a lot of jazz and reggae influence and I am looking for ways to spice up my playing and tones, but I am sort of new to the pedal game. I have a few already that I've been using and a few ideas on what I might want to get but I was wondering what you guys might suggest.

As of right now my rig is:
    Fender P special modified by adding seymour duncan Vintage Jazz and 3/4 pound P pickups and a leo quan badass III

Ampeg BA115HP

Sansamp Programmable Bass Driver DI - which I use both as a DI when needed and as a pedal to adjust my tone to the song/section and some volume boosting

Boss TU-2

As for pedals I have in mind, I am thinking a Boss oc-3 could sound cool for some reggae parts and solos I do, the Tech 21 Bass Boost Chorus for some more interesting effects (honestly, don't know when I'd use it off hand, but I really like the sounds I've heard off of it), MXR Bass Compressor for...well... compression, and probably a verb and delay, which I haven't decided on what I want yet.

I am really hoping for some ideas or comments on my ideas for my stylistic purpose. One of the things that's been so tough about shopping for pedals is that every review or comparison video I see caters largely to funk and prog players, and while they get awesome sounds and drop killer licks everywhere, its hard to apply what they're doing to the style of music my band is playing.

Thanks for your time!

2. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Supporting Member

Jun 20, 2011
    West Bend, Wisconsin