Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

ska questions

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by tigersauce, May 23, 2003.

1. tigersauce

tigersauce

May 23, 2003
    I am trying to put together a ska band but I have no real idea about what I should work on in order to get into the "ska groove". I've been playing bass for quit a few years, mostly in metal bands so ska is new to me. I mean I really dig the music and want to do something different. Thanks

2. What kind of ska sound are you trying to get? The sounds of early ska bands like The Specials are fairly different than the "third wave" ska bands of today (ex. Voodoo Glow Skulls, Mustard Plug). Then there's punk-ska, which falls into the third wave category that most people seem to think of when they think of "ska." (ex. DaVEPe listed some punk-ska bands). You might want to try looking up more "pure ska" bands as well as listen to the punk-ska ones. Also listen to older "second wave" ska bands like The Specials and see what they do differently than today's bands. And don't forget the reggae. Ska has reggae roots.

But generally ska tends to rely a lot on a dominant bass pulling off the main melodies while the guitars keep a mostly constant rhythm, quite similar to a lot of reggae. I'm being very general though. Your best bet to get a feel for the music is to just listen to a lot of it, as DaVEPe suggested.

3. if you don't already have it, go out and buy Sublime's self-titled CD. then buy all of their other CDs.
    Eric Wilson has got the 'ska groove'

4. Actually, Ska has it's origins in 1960s Jamaica, and predates Reggae. It is more accurate to say that Reggae has Ska roots, rather than vice versa.
    Ska takes from American Jazz and R&B, as well as calypso and native Jamaican "mento" musics.