Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Skill vs. Talent.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Brendan, May 25, 2001.

1. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    Well, not really an debate as the title would suggest, but I would like express this little nagging thought that's been eating away at me all day (since I saw a concert today during lunch at school; part of a reading rock thing).

I have skill, not talent. I've been playing for a couple of years now, and I listen/watch other guys who have been playing either the same amount of time, or less than me, and seem o be farther along in the skill/dexterity/ability area. And here I am, not as talented. Now, I do have skill, I work my butt off, and as a result, I'm not to bad, but I've got no talent. No real natural ability for progression. I do, but just because I work hard, really hard.

I've really got no natural ability as far as I'm concerned. Which is unnerving, because I play bass as a choice, not a force. I want to be a bassist (as opposed to many who get "stuck" on bass), and I still just seem to be behind the curve a bit. Which is irksome to see guys that have talent go out there and do better than me, who have only been playing about half the time. Or, at least, the seem to do better. They might not. Could just be in my head.

Just me venting I guess. Don't worry, I'm good enough. Like I said, I've got skills. I can play pretty darned well, and I'm actually sought out on occasion...but it really is quite frustrating as a person to have a lack of talent. I think my friend Matt summed it up when he said (of me in my brief stint as a guitarist) "You can become the most technical guitar player in the world, but that doesn't mean you have talent."

That's the way I feel. Thanks for listening.

2. Phil Smith

Phil Smith Mr Sumisu 2 U

May 30, 2000
    Peoples Republic of Brooklyn