Slap and pop is in in the set up?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by RicPlaya, Aug 30, 2004.

1. RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI
    I just started learning some slap chops from my instructor. I noticed a few things.

1. I feel set up has a lot to do with how effective you can slap

2. String spacing on your bass should be fairly wide

My bass has narrow string spacing and if I set it up with low action I get too mych fret buzz, I raise it, it makes it difficult to slap without hitting the string very hard. ARRRRRGGGGG so what do I do? I think I can releave the action on my bass so I can lower the action a bit but is it still possible to slap with narrow string spacing effectivey? I will ask my instructor the same question but I thought I would check with you frustrating! :crying:
  2. Ozzyman

Jul 21, 2004
    Pfff... I can slap on a 16.5mm string spacing without problems.
    But try getting slightly higher gauge strings and get the action low enough to slap but high enuf to get no buzz...
    Also you may need to adjust your trussrod.
    Does it buzz when you don't slap?
  3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    I was just at our local 'Guitar Center' trying out oh-so-many basses, and this string-spacing thing is what I just discovered (like, duh.) I really value playing a 5-string, but the resulting close string spacing is making it WAY hader to learn slap - and the thing that's MORE valuable to me: thumb-down, thumb-up, index-on-same-string 'Wooten triplets'! (I love the tone of those for most things, as compared to the drier three-finger triplets, which I'm also just BARELY getting proficient on.)

Anyway - for the first time I tried a 5-string with the splayed-out strings, and was THAT nice! Does a wide-spaced five like that tend to slow a player down appreciably - I'm thinking either left hand when you move up the neck, or for string skipping on the picking hand?

4. RicPlaya

Apr 22, 2003
    Whitmoretucky MI