1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

"Slap" bass (DB Jazz Technique Thread)

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by HateyMcAmp, Jan 5, 2012.

1. HateyMcAmp

HateyMcAmp

Apr 13, 2006
    Colorado
    Krivo Pickups - uncompensated endorser
    Just to be clear, this isn't about Larry Graham or Flea's electric style, or even what Lee Rocker does on his DB for rockabilly. If you want to talk about any of those monster players, you wouldn't have to look very far. While there is a bunch of info out there on slap bass for rock'n'roll players (with a couple dedicated forums including a subsection on this site) there is very little on slap in the context of jazz despite its long history. I hope this thread can narrow the gap!

I'm an emerging pro bassist here in NYC who plays in a popular Americana string band along with several working bands that do "traditional" sounding stuff. I started studying DB in college and was a "pizz only" guy for a couple of years in my early 20s. I would sometimes palm-slap between pizz notes in situations in which drummers were not present.

When I got to NYC, I started studying with a guy who got me bowing, and despite my early apprehension, slapping the bass in a more complete way. Initially, I got what I considered to be a really clanky metallic sound and didn't really bother with it for a while. I continued playing pizz and arco, but became more interested in slapping after I switched to guts. Occasionally in the bluegrass context I would try and take a rhythmic slap solo or slap a I-V progression under a loud soloist.