1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Slap bass groove

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BluemoonIbanez, Aug 14, 2012.

1. BluemoonIbanez

BluemoonIbanez

Aug 14, 2012
    Hi guys, been coming here for years and finding every answer to all my questions, except this one problem I have.

I have been playing orchestral stand up for 7 years, I started playing electric bass about 3 years ago. I know the notes, i know rhythm, and I know a small amount of music theory. I have been taught to read music off a page and that has impaired my playing heavily. I cannot for the life of me make MY OWN riffs at all, this has improved slightly in some aspects of my playing...except one...The slap bass, I have practiced for years and I can play riffs in time, with good sound, only problem, they aren't my riffs! They are riffs someone posted on youtube, or I found on the internet. Whenever I try to make my own I get stuck in playing root, 5th, octave. I can't even get a groovy rhythm, its boring slap pop slap slap pop, no variation, I get locked in this mindset and my slap hand won't move away from it! Its so frustrating :mad:

What is your inspiration for making your own slap riffs? Where do you start? Thanks

2. FunkMetalBass

FunkMetalBass

Aug 5, 2005
    Phoenix, Arizona 85029
    Endorsing Artist: J.C. Basses
    There are two things that are way too commonly done and when practicing, I make it a point to avoid them:

1. Slapping the root note on the first beat of the measure
    2. Slapping the root and popping the octave