Slap Bass? Please Help.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CitricGuy, Oct 13, 2002.

1. When it comes to bass i started about 2 months ago.. sofar i know the basics and have the fretboard notes memorized and know all the basics in tuning etc.. but when it comes to slap bass, no matter how I try or how many guides I follow I can not get anything that even slightly resembles what it should. Is there a way I should have my bass tuned? My amp set differently (low/mid/high tones etc.)? Should i be hitting the strings in a certain place? I would really appriciate any feedback at all im at a complete loss here. I think slap and pop are amazing to listen to which is the reason I started playing but I just cant get those soulds out of my bass.
  2. alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA
    Is the question about your setup to give you a sound that lends itself more to slap? Or are you worried about your slapping technique not being where you believe it should be?
  3. I guess it could be both now that I think about it. On one hand theres the technical aspect of it I guess, is there any standard settings to get a clean slap sound out of a bass. And on the other hand im not sure of my technique, im pretty sure its atleast similar to the standard way, its mostly what ive read in several other threads. Any and all basics will help me out here, anything at all.. Thanks again, -Js
  4. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    With two months of technique under your belt, you probably are still shaky on a bunch of things. It took me a couple years to get a good slap sound and I'm still working on it. Some things you just have to let happen in their own time.
  5. alx564

Jul 31, 2000
    Emmaus, PA
    I can't really help with getting a clean slap sound out of your bass. There are plenty of other people here who can. But I do know a little about slapping.