Slap bass sound

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by thefezz, May 7, 2005.

1. thefezz

May 7, 2005
    Hi All,

I'm a starting out bass player. I've been playing for about two years. Unfortunately I know nothing about equipment at all. I know the difference between active and passive circuitry, and that is it.

Like many bass players I have been seduced by the sounds of slap bass. I can definately play slap style bass, but i'm having trouble getting a decent sound. Probably due to my equipment and/or settings, I can only ever get a really muddy, thick low end sound, or an empty kind of almost flangey type of sound. I recently heard the perfect sound I wanted to achieve when playing slap. It is so clear and crisp, while at the same time being low and punchy. I heard it in a song called "Like The Way I Do" by Melissa Etheridge.

I was wondering if anyone could tell me what equipment I would need or what settings i would need to use to get this sound. The equipment i use is as follows:

Ibanez Soundgear SR-505 (Active P & J pickups)
    OLP Musicman Stingray clone (Passive 8 Pole pickups)

Behringer Bx3000t Bass Head (300w)
    no name 4 x 10" quad box (4 x celestion speakers with horn).

I also have a Korg Ampworks Bass amp modelling unit.

Any help would be much appreciated! Please email me on if anyone could be of any assistance. Or just reply to this :)

Kind Regards,

2. EricTheEZ1

Nov 23, 2004
    Clawson, MI
    So that you're not being hung out to dry, let me give you some tips on slap tone. I can't tell you exactly what settings you need because I'm unfamiliar with your gear.