1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Slap bass strings / string height? Slap Noob asking.

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by Reiska, Jan 4, 2017.

1. Reiska

Reiska

Jan 27, 2014
    Helsinki, Finland
    Hey all. I`ve been interested in learning to slap the bass for a while now and just got into it as I`m going to need the skill with my band in the near future. My bass is a carved bass with 42in mensure and it`s set-up now for pizz and arco with Evah Pirazzi slap EAD and plain gut G, strings are at 9mm - 12mm height. This is as low as I would like to go with these strings for maximum acoustic pizz and arco volume and full tone. These strings are stupid easy to play pizz at this height. I have adjusters on my bridge, and a plain gut D if that is needed.

However, as I am only beginning to slap I`m wondering if this height is too much for that. I find that the clack after the note is a lot easier to execute on the EA than on the DG. My technique obviously ain`t nowhere near yet, but I would like a little guidance on this issue. A seasoned player and slapper fellow TB`r once said that in slap you need a little lower height for the strings to bounce back. I`m a drummer and a percussionist originally and find this analogy reasonable as the skill of hitting things musically is all about understanding gravity, relaxation and bounce. ( The same fellow TB`r said that I would be a natural slapper with my history, but no, I don`t think so :) )

So, what kind of setup do you use for slapping, including the strings, the scale lenght and the string height in millimetres? Other parameters? As I wrote, I need my bass to work well on all three techniques, pizz, arco and slap.

And yes, I know, a teacher wouldn`t hurt, but any online tutorials you have found useful, books, etc?