Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

slap dillema

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JonnyLentilbean, Jan 5, 2003.

1. i've been playing for about 5 years now, and i've really been getting into all of stanley clarke's projects and what-not.

i've gotten pretty efficient with my slapping, but it's the popping that i just can't do. i can never manage to hook that string hard enough to pop it.

i've been taking a different route, taking my thumb for a ride and using it and slapping on all 5 strings, slapping harder on the high strings to emulate the pop sound. it sounds incredible, but is there a real problem with doing it this way?

2. Slap_Thatb_Ass

Slap_Thatb_Ass

Mar 17, 2002
    Honestly popping isnt that hard. Pull the string with whatever finger you want and let it smack against the frets.

3. funkymonkey

funkymonkey

Mar 21, 2002
    what bass r u using? perhaps u have thick strings and a far distance between strings and fretboard. try to lower your strings with the bridge. normally u dont need much force to pop them.
    generally any own style is never wrong but u should keep in mind:
    that it doesnt hurt and
    that the style your using is flexible and efficient.
    in ur case i could imagine that the slap speed suffers a lot under ur style. how fast can u play octave riffs? speeds about 120bpm (16nd) can be approached easily by classic slap style.
    furthermore the sound is different.
    but in the end its your decision. if u think ur fast enough, u can play it clearly and u like the sound, why not using it then?

hope this helps

4. mcbosler

mcbosler

May 12, 2000
    Plano, TX