1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Slap players: Best PUPS/Bass style for Slap?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by mrcbass, Jan 21, 2021.

1. mrcbass

mrcbass

Jan 14, 2016
    Sacramento, CA
    I've been struggling with slap since I started playing bass (5 1/2 years) and recently discovered that some of my struggle was tone settings and strings. (I use flats exclusively and have preferred tone rolled off on my P.) I knew flats were not good for slap, so never really worked on it.

But I put some rounds on one of my P basses and found that my technique wasn't all the blame and now I'd like to really start working on it.

I've heard that, generally speaking, Jazz style basses tend to respond better to slap than Ps?

Is this a valid qualification?

Assuming this is true, I'm planning to pick up a fretted jazz style bass (both my current jazz styles are fretless). Do the type of PUPS matter or is it more the PUP position that brings out the slap tone?

If it matters, which style pups react the best?

Thanks

(Mods: If this is in the wrong forum, please move to correct one.)

2. bass12

bass12 Have you seen my tonsils lately? Supporting Member

Jun 8, 2008
    Montreal, Canada
    It really depends what kind of tone you’re going for. Ps can sound great slapped but they do sound different from Js. Can you post some examples of the sound you’re wanting to get?

jerry, red_rhino and birminghambass like this.
  3. Forget Me Nots (Patrice Rushen) has a slapped P bass.

4. mrcbass

mrcbass

Jan 14, 2016
    Sacramento, CA