Slap question.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by maxherlim, Feb 23, 2005.

1. maxherlim

Aug 12, 2004
    Hi all...I am a newbie here. I have a question regarding slap technique.
    I tried to bounce my thumb off the string ...I got a nice sound when I hit the E string ....but when I hit the A, D, or G, the sound is not as loud and clear as the E.....I got better slap sound when I use thumb through the string technique.
    My question is do I need to use "thumb through" the string technique or need more practice using bouncing off the string technique?
    Which one is better?
  2. I prefer bouncing off. I can play much faster that way and the note resonates better, but it's really up to you and your style. Most bass players will probably tell you that you only need to be able to slap the e and a string (or b) and just pluck the rest. Usually when your playing funk and slapping your root note is one of your lower strings, so slapping a higher string would be a waste of energy. I personaly tend to slap all the strings when I'm playing extremely tech bass lines. I can only pluck 2 to 3 notes really fast. If I can't reach a hammer-on for those fourth or fifth notes I will slap that extra note on a high string after I pluck so I can get a smooth triplet or whatever kind of fast fill i'm lookin for. The best thing to practice is precision and speed. Hit each string as hard as you can (not too hard obviously) w/ your thumb untill you don't have to think about it. The higher the string the harder you have to hit it for it to be heard. Your not going to get near as much punch on the higher strings though. Hope this helps.
  3. jedwards

Feb 1, 2005