1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Slap Technuque: middle finger?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by lovethegrowl, May 6, 2015.

1. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl Banned

Oct 30, 2013
    I am a lowly beginner & am starting to learn via the old Alexis Sklarevski video, Bunny Brunel's two short video's & will later get the Bass Wizard's course.

I did view a really cool video by Brian Bromberg, who stated unequivocally that the hand pivots at the index finger, & because of that he prefers to pluck with the middle finger.

That makes sense & it seems that keeping the idea that the hand pivots at the index finger, if you use the middle finger for plucking you can stay looser & go much faster between your thumps & plucks. I am alternating between the index & middle fingers in my practicing, & will decide which works better later.

I do have the following problems:

1) the index finger is inherently more coordinated & you can place it between the strings better. But for me it is hard to use too much or too little. I can't place either finger and have it make contact at the same spot with the string

2) the index finger stays more rigid in a curved position. My middle finger dosn't seem as strong and is easily pulled out of the curved position.

3) my middle fingers nail often makes contact with the string & gets caught, even though it is short.

Anyone else here use the middle finger & concur with Bromberg?

Last edited: May 6, 2015
  2. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl Banned

Oct 30, 2013
    Also, my bass tech told me that there were several "slappers" who predated Larry Graham. Is that true & who were they?

3. /\/\3phist0

/\/\3phist0 Life: It's sexually transmitted and always fatal Supporting Member

Go to YouTube and look up stu hamm u:

4. lovethegrowl

lovethegrowl Banned

Oct 30, 2013
    OK. I downloaded all 10 lessons. Thanx!

5. smeet