slap troubles

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by myk d., Dec 8, 2000.

1. myk d.

myk d.

Dec 8, 2000
    hi, im still pretty new at bass, and am still developing techniques. not that slapping is the most musical thing done to a bass, but i still really wnat to learn how to do it. my main problem is that i always end up hitting multiple strings with my thumb. also, i have trouble when slap/popping, i always get a trot, never a steady rythem. i know practice is the key, but i would greatly appreciate any tips that might help me out along the way. thanx a lot.
  2. kcm

Jun 17, 2000
    Woking, Surrey.
    Although I am primarily a Rock/Blues player I love to play a bit of slap and found that the video called "The Slap Bass Program by Alex Sklarevski" helped my technique no end. It starts from very basic single note thumbing to machine gun triplets and beyond. It has the music written too, and shows both hands working together in great detail.
    Costs about £18 in the UK so probably $12 or so, depending on where you are.
  3. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    The most important thing to do is relax. Keep your wrist, forearm and elbow loose; let your hand lead and the rest of your arm will follow. The slap motion comes from the counterclockwise rotation of the hand about the wrist, which brings your thumb to the string. That's it; no arm movement is necessary. (If this is confusing, imagine turning a doorknob.) Once your thumb contacts the string, let it bounce off; don't keep it there. Like a trampoline, the tension in the string should provide sufficient force to return your thumb to its starting position for another slap; you shouldn't have to expend any muscle effort to get the thumb off of the string.