Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

slapping and poping

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Youngspanion, Sep 17, 2005.

1. Who else can't slap and pop? :crying:

2. I couldnt at first but now I am getting there. I just started practicing with a book called Slap it by Tony Oppenheim. I practice about 30 minutes a day. I only put about 10 minutes a day practicing slap. I am a lefty playing a righty bass. I am finally getting a clean slap and pop from any of the four strings on the bass. You can do it..The important thing is to go real slow and work on technique.

3. FunkSlap89

FunkSlap89

Apr 26, 2005
    Albany, NY
  4. Vorago

Vorago (((o)))

Jul 17, 2003
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Haha, two major typos about the same subject on 1 page.

Slapping and pooping
    Slapping and poping

Imo, maybe the Pope likes a good slap from time to time, but I have doubts about the popping :D

5. A good song to practice slapping on if your a beginner is "Higher Ground" by the Chili Peppers. It's a good easy pattern, but it will help you get the feel for the style, a good starter. It was the first slap song I ever learned.

6. Chili

Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    Newcastle/England
    i was slap poping in the style of Flea for a long time, gettin used to it and everything and became pretty good at it, but then i started to learn louis johnsons style and now i get mixed up with the two ways of slapping and its slowin me down, and now my slap pop is gettin abit rusty, but i've decided to stick with the louis johnson style unless am playing a chili song...dunno if thats a good idea or not

7. FunkSlap89

FunkSlap89

Apr 26, 2005
    Albany, NY

originally by stevie wonder, of course.... yeah.. thats a good one to learn on too. Although the double slap can be tricky for beginners :ninja: