Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

slapping and popping.... how do u?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bass_ace101, Sep 21, 2005.

1. bass_ace101

bass_ace101

Sep 17, 2005
    i have been playing for about 8 months now and i was wondering how to slap and pop? if u could give me a brief and well writen explanation or a website that would be good :bassist:

2. Chili

Chili

Mar 8, 2005
    Newcastle/England
    i dont think anything we tell you will really make that much of a differance, for slap pop i think, u cant read how todo it, u have to have someone show u the basics at least, or watch a video of someone doin it or an instructional video of how todo it, i recomend louis johnson istructional video volume 1, he show su 20 licks in good detail of how todo it slowly etc, and about 16 or 17 of the licks r all slap pop, also listen to songs with slap pop in them and once u get the hang of slapping and gettin a good enough sound from it, try and learn those songs

3. elros

elros

Apr 24, 2004
    Norway
    Proprietor, Helland Musikk Teknologi
    I've been playing for about 12 years now and still haven't really gotten into playing slap-hand.

But now recently I've begun looking into it by watching Victor Wooten instructional videos.

Also, I recently was at a Marcus Miller clinic, and his slap-hand style is rather different from Victor Wooten's style.

My advice? Find your own style first.