1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Slapping and Popping Technique

Discussion in 'Ask the Berklee Bass Department' started by bassSean, Feb 11, 2017.

1. bassSean

bassSean

Feb 11, 2017
    I have been playing bass for 35 years. I have played most styles; trained at the old Dick Grove School of Music in L.A. I have never attempted to work slapping technique into my playing style despite the fact that I have played in many cover bands that play funk and pop styles that work well with slapping and popping. So...despite the fact that I consider myself a seasoned professional musician and bassist, I am slightly above a beginner at this technique. I am now playing for a band specializing in wedding receptions and corporate gigs. I am attempting to work this technique in slowly on songs like Brick House and Car Wash, but we are playing some more advanced slapping style songs (Stay With Me Tonight, Forget Me Nots) where I want to utilize this technique. Here is the problem though: Every time I switch from normal finger technique to slapping, my power/volume diminishes by about 50%. Other than getting a volume pedal, I'm not sure how to rectify this problem. It sounds to my ears as though the bass has all but dropped out of the mix entirely when I switch. I do not know whether it is a matter of becoming more comfortable with the technique, or the equipment I am using (currently using a small 350 watt combo with 2x12 speakers...maybe a4x12, with greater speaker surface would be a better choice) or if it is the settings I have dialed in on my amp. I usually emphasize the low and mids because I like the sound of the early Motown artists like Jameson. I usually only dial in enough highs to give the notes proper clarity. Any suggestions regarding my losing power would be most appreciated.

2. Sandro Scoccia

Sandro Scoccia

Sep 13, 2013