Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Slapping fundamentals

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bigbass611, Mar 27, 2001.

1. bigbass611

bigbass611

Jul 14, 2000
    I want to start being able to slap/funk ala flea. How should I start?? I know I need to slap the E and A string with my thumb and pop the D and G string with my middle finger, I think. But what should I do to get good and rhythmic? Any advice would be great advice. Thanks so Much, Mark.

2. Hi
    why you don't buy the book "the slap bass metod" ?

3. Oysterman

Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Sweden
    I occasionally slap the D and G string. I pop with my index finger.
    Getting good rhythm while slapping is a lifetime achievement. I've been slapping the hell out of my bass for over two years, and it's still hard to get a good groove with it. I think I have to spend at least two more years to get any good at it.
    It takes a lot of time.

4. fitz

fitz Guest

First begin with where you slap. Slap just where the fret board starts, it gives you a fuller sound. Don't start big with Chili Peppers stuff, its to hard and syncopated. Try 16 by green day. Its and easy riff(accept the solo, which is a little harder) and simple rythym. Like oysterman said, developing rythym is a life acheivment, and I pop with both my index and middle finger. Feel free to ask any questions you have.
    Fitz

5. remember that slap is just a trick, a thrill for others, so getting good is the aim , so that you can add another "trick" to your bass amourey

the best advice is to take your time, invest in a decent video or book, but we all know what happens when your buy a book, you end up looking at the pictures or not reading it properly, so videos are usually the best way to go.