1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Slapping is killing my hand

Discussion in 'Rockabilly [DB]' started by Space Pickle, Apr 26, 2019.

1. I wonder if anybody has advice for playing slap...lately I'm experiencing a lot of pain in my right hand. I can't really practice or do gigs on DB. I used to feel slapping in my bicep (the good tired muscle feeling) but these days it feels like the entire weight of the string is being pulled by the inside part of my palm, between the thumb and pointer finger.

Everything else is fine. Arco, jazz pizz, bass guitar & regular guitar (with and without pick) are all no problem. I'm playing Evah Pirazzi slap strings which seem pretty low tension to me. It's getting really frustrating, I've been slapping for about 8 months and have been making great progress. It's not like I'm overdoing the practice either.

Also forgot to add I'm only 34.

2. I find it's harder to slap with low action. It requires an odd twisting of the hand to get properly under the string, so as counterintuitive as it may seem, maybe raise the action a mm or two...

Hoyt likes this.
  3. Hoyt

Hoyt

Jun 29, 2006
    Saint Charles, IL.
    I know I’m late to the party, but putting a pillow under my armpit while practicing really forced me to play from the wrist and reduced a lot of the trouble and pain I had been having.

As with everything else setup is probably key. I know people who can slap with super low action, but I’ve never been able to do that myself. I need at least a little room for the pads of my fingers to get behind the strings a bit.

Keith Rawlings likes this.
  4. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California