Slapping, left-hand slapping etc.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Lovebown, Jan 6, 2001.

1. Lovebown

Jan 6, 2001
    Hello fellow bassists,
    this is my first time posting on this forum and I would very much appreciate a little help.
    I have a few questions...

How do you achieve the "percussive" left-hand slap sound?
    Could someone please explain in detail how this technique is done...(where do u slap/how do u hold your thumb etc.)

Also, how do u get the classic "slap" tone?
    I play on a Ibanez ATK-300 and a Peavey Microbass 50W.
    My eq are set to medium everything and the tone control on the bass is turned on max...
    I've been slapping quite much and i think i attack and bounce of pretty good ... is it just a matter of techniqque?
    Is it even possible to get a clear classic flea "slap sound" on this equipment?

Any help would be much appreciated

2. W.J.

Oct 31, 2000
    try the search globe at the top !!!

and for the tone ; cut those mid-tones!!!
    I don't know the amp of yours but your bass is the same as mine :) and there is a selection knob for the tone => push it to the right ; you'll get a high punch , good for slapping but turn your low up also.

i don't know if it's the same with your bass but my action is rather high . otherwise I get some buzz . / not plesant /

and maybe you can set your profile in order to help you more..
  3. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    ...check out the thread titled "What's A Double Thumb Slap"(it's in this forum, just scroll down). In my 1-3-2001 post, I attempted an explanation of the LEFT(ie fretting)HAND slap & an exercise.

About the "classic" slap tone-
    ...I guess everyone has their notion of what/who is "classic". Some guys like to cut the mids for a slap tone, others don't. Since you have mentioned Flea, whadda you consider his "classic" slap tone? Something like "Aeroplane"(which is MID-heavy & kinda "classic", IMO)?