Slapping On Fretless?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by The Owl, Oct 6, 2005.

1. The Owl

The Owl

Aug 14, 2005
    Atlanta GA
    Wonder if anyone here has attempted this, slapping on fretless.

I've heard Pino Palladino do it on a Gary Numan album with surprising clarity and snap? What's the secret I wonders-------
  2. Good technique, roundwound strings, good setup on the neck.

3. ...and a metal plate at the bottom of the fingerboard to give it the snap.
  4. Bakithi Kumalo does it, too. Quite well.
  5. As far as I'm aware, yes.
  6. BillytheBassist

Aug 18, 2005
    Up until a few day's ago i had bever played a fretless... I've been playing fretted bass for 9 years. I am an admitted slap-o-holic so I was never realy too interested in fretless. But I was at guitar center the other day and they had a used washburn 4 stringer. Just for kicks n' grins i plugged it in and played it, It seemd almost natural to me... kinda strange, I slapped the dog out of it as well, sounded good to my ears....
  7. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Some time ago I played a Le Fay Remington Steele 5 with stainless steel fingerboard.
    Very nice slap sound, wonderful warm mwah, too, no harshness at all.
  8. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Michael Manring also does some slapping on the fretless hyperbass. I think the key to making it sound clear is roundwounds and a fairly hard/dense fingerboard.
  9. Les Claypool slaps his fretless quite a bit.
  10. I've tried it before on my fretless J-Bass (MIM) and it sounds like crap. The sound of the string on the wood makes an annoyingly click sound, it's more irritating then fun. With a nicer bass, I'm sure it would sound good if you do it right but I hate it on my bass.
  11. soontobedead

Jul 14, 2005