Slapping whilst standing...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Lewi_wilko, Dec 8, 2005.

1. Lewi_wilko

Mar 24, 2004
    i find it hard. if its not the strap height im worrying about its the possition of my thumb. How do you people slap while standing? Is your bass strap tight? And is your thumb perpendicular against the strings or horizontal allong the string? Also some pictures would be appreciated.

2. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

There are two basic approaches for thumb slapping: Making your thumb parallel to the strings ala Mark King or making it perpendicular ala Flea (both incompatible IMO). The first one requires to wear your bass high for avoiding an uncomfortable wrist angle, while the second allows you to wear your instrument lower. I studied the first one and I feel comfortable with it:

But no matter what approach feels best for you, you must learn to play while standing unless you play all of your gigs seated. How the bass feels relative to your body is a variable which is often overlooked. When practicing, you should at least make sure that there's no much difference in the way you feel your instrument either standing or sitting (that's one of the advantages of wearing the bass high). You also should get one of those high stools for practicing (those in which you sit down, but feels almost like standing), which are the best for that purpose IMO. And never practice without hanging your bass. I've seen some guys who put the instrument on their lap with no strap and start practicing. That's a big mistake for me.

Hope this helps.
  3. My advise to you would be PRACTICE STANDING every time.

Before you do though, try out various settings on your strap, various angles on your bass... you'll eventually find one that you'll be really confortable with. having a relaxed hand/wrist is key (or so my teacher said anyway, I suck at slap. lol )
  4. bannedwit

May 9, 2005
    Buffalo, NY