Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

slapping

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by lithium, May 9, 2003.

1. lithium

lithium Guest

May 8, 2003
    ive been playing bass for about two years and am now just learning how to use the slap technique. does anyone have any tips for this stupid bassist?:confused:

2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Welcome to TB, lithium.

As far as slapping goes, make sure you take it slow. Starting off too fast will not help to improve your technique. Also, try browsing some of these TB search results. Lots of info to be found there.

Lately I have been working with Tony Oppenheim's book, "Slap It." I highly reccomend it.

3. Max

Max Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2000
    Bakersfield, CA
    I have this book now and recommend it as well.

4. this may sound stupid but I just feel it, I would suggest you listen to a lot of Marcus Miller and Will Lee

5. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    the book is a great idea.. get it

and Don't try and beat the hell out of your bass either.. all you'll end up with is blistered painfull fingers.. the main thing to remember for slap bass is to use a light touch for the most part..

6. sambass

sambass

Apr 15, 2003
    MA
    Slap it gets my stamp of approval :bassist: thats actually where i learned how to slap. and it comes with a cd (but i lost mine :(

7. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK

Whoa there! Maybe leave the slap fests till you've go to grips with the basics?!

I bought Alexis Slarveskis Slap Bass Program recently.