1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Sleezy Bar Stories

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Bassmanbob, Oct 21, 2006.

1. Bassmanbob

Bassmanbob Supporting Member

I'm still laughing about my new band's first gig in the sleeziest bar in town. A little back ground: I'm a local professional, clean cut, husband and father of two mild mannered daughters. Well a guitarist friend of mine asked me to join his new band. They play some originals, and mostly heavy rock. It's really not my usual style, but I like the guys in the band and I figured why not?

So we rehearse for three weeks and have our first gig last Sunday night. I've never been to this bar before, but I was warned to, "dirty up" for the gig, and not make eye contact with anyone's woman. I usually keep my hair really short and clean shaven face except for my goatee, so I shaved my head but not my face that day.

Well I get there to set up and the first guy I see in the place has a freshly inflicted black eye that he could barely see through. The guy next to him has no shirt, but a leather vest with a picture on the back of a skull with long blond hair, a cowboy hat and a Confederate flag bandana around it's missing neck. Any the guy had Summer Teeth (Sum 'r there and Sum 'r not). This was culture shock for me.

Anyway the gig went off without any problems, except for the usual first gig jitters. Oh yeah. The song that got the best responce was Gimme Three Steps by Lynard Skynard. Yeeah Haaa Buddy! Half way through the gig I turn to the guitarist and tell him the place wasn't as sleezy as he lead me to beleive. He responded with, "You showed up on Preppy Night. They dressed up for you tonight." I thought that was pretty funny.

So what are your sleezy bar stories?

2. hartke20g

hartke20g

Apr 12, 2006
    miami, FL