Small, affordable bass amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kemkes, Jul 12, 2005.

1. kemkes

Jul 12, 2005
    Hello everybody,

I would appreciate any input you may have now that I am planning to buy a small, affordable bass amp (combo). I plan to use it almost exclusively when rehearsing and I need only a clean, simple bass sound (I rarely crank up the volume). My band plays rock/pop/funk. Price is an issue, and I really dont feel I need anything big to play well. I am new to the world of bass amps as I have always been playing friends amps till now.

Thanks in advance,
    /Henrik Kemkes
  2. The new Eden Silver Series sounds great and is a very low cost line of amps. Also, the Hartke kickback combo's sound good and are on the low cost end of the spectrum.
  3. illidian

Jul 2, 2004
    What's your budget?

What are your guitarists using (watts? tubes or solid-state? amount of speakers?)?

"Small combo amps" rarely work in the bass world, as we need at least three to four times the wattage our guitarist is using.

Please do a search on wattage to find out how much you need as well. It has been explained numerous times and doesn't need to be done again if we use the search function.
  4. Juniorkimbrough

Mar 22, 2005
    Mississippi / Memphis, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
    if you have drums in your band you are likely going to need something a bit bigger.
  5. thedoctor

Jun 20, 2005
    I have two Kickbacks but I do not consider them a value copared to the (laughter starts here) Crate 25 watt boogers. They are WAY cheap, rugged and have a rather pleasant shaping circuit. Save a C-note or two and get a Crate. By accident, I found out that 60% of the guys I net-jam with all have the same Crate practice amp and we all LOVE them, for what they are.
  6. kemkes

Jul 12, 2005
    Thanks for the quick replys! Here´s some more info...