Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

small hands - j or P-type 4 0r5 for complete novice

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by si6r, Apr 16, 2004.

1. si6r

si6r

Mar 27, 2004
    London, UK
    Hi

I am a complete novice. just picked up a friends Yamaha 604.

I want to buy a bass to learn on and want to audition a few but as I cannot play a note dont know where to start.

My main issue is I have short fingers so assume a j-type neck would make sense. I also assume this would also mean a five string doesnt make sense cos in addition to having to learn another string, and most books seem to be aimed at 4 string.

My budget is around the GB£250 to GB£300 mark for the bass only. I have a practice amp from a friend.

Should I audition a fender P and J even with no playing knowledge.

Cheers
    Si

2. Actually in my experience finger length/size has very limited influence on what neck you should get.
    I've met some great players who have small hands and i've met great player w/ huge hands.
    Basses have various size/shape necks and whatever your hand feels comfortable w/ is prolly the best for you. A number of bass makers make super thin necks (like Ibanez), and thin flatter necks might work best for you.
    So i guess apriori I couldn't tell you which neck would feel best for you. Try out as many basses as you can and one of them will speak to you.

3. bmc

bmc

Nov 15, 2003
    Switzerland
    If you have narrowed it to a P or a J and you have small hands, a J will be more comfortable for you.

Ibanez Soundgear series basses have pencil thin necks you might like even more.

4. AMJBASS

AMJBASS Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2002
    Ontario, Canada