1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

small hands

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rosettastond29, Jan 22, 2012.

1. rosettastond29

rosettastond29

Jan 21, 2012
    I recently picked up the bass.... 4 string. Gettin pretty good with it only problem is my 12 year olds hands are almost bigger than mine. I have to change stance too often just to play how i need to. Thinkin of gettin an ESP but not sure which one any recomendations

2. Ibaness soundgear bases. Great sound and thiner neck make for a comfortable bass playing experience.

3. tojge

tojge

Jun 11, 2010
    Belgrade, Serbia
    I'm not really an expert on the subject of ESP basses, but I do believe most (if not all) of them are standard, 34" scale... now, I have rather average-sized hands, but I can still handle a long-scale fiver just nice. This is not an empty boast, just a simple fact, a bit of correct playing technique will get you a long way, but if you really are suffering with a long-scale bass, would it not be better to go for a short-scale, say ~30", one?

4. Systolic

Systolic Supporting Member

Nov 29, 2009
    Madison,Wisconsin
    As toje said. It may not be a hand size thing. It might be a technique or personal preference thing. I am by no means a big man and I have very average sized hands yet I find the bigger P bass style neck extremely comfortable while the smaller necks (J's, Ibby's etc...) give me hand cramps. So i'd suggest playing around at your local music store to check that off the list first.