Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Smaller luthiers

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by boofis, Mar 16, 2004.

1. Hey
    What are some of the smaller luthiers that are just getting started?
    Thanks
    Troy

2. i would fall into that category!
    i have been making guitars and basses for 3 years now, but i am really just getting started with branching out and making them for others. i am 99% done with my first internet customer's bass (you can see a picture here: http://members.fortunecity.com/skbasses/topoiled2.bmp ) and i have 2 new customers who i am now starting to build for. a website will hopefully be coming along soon, but as for right now, i have been trying to do things word of mouth through various bulletin boards and friends. thanks!

shane
    skbasses

3. Tim Barber

Tim Barber Commercial User

Apr 28, 2003
    Serenity Valley
    Owner: Barber Music
    I used to be a smaller luthier but I gained a lot of weight recently :D

Darn those Oreos.

4. Bass Kahuna

Bass Kahuna

Dec 3, 2002
    West Lafayette, Indiana
    Luthier, Custom Builder
    I am a small Luthier.

I have been doing repairs, setups, and modifications for over 20 years as a serious "side hobby", and last year decided to start building custom basses as a full time business. I am hoping that in the next 12-24 months I can build my business up to where it will be my main source of income (supplemented by the occassional studio and / or live session work I get, a few limited bass students, etc.... oh, and my wife's income as well).

I am a one man shop, and no one touches a bass I build except me from start to finish. I'm looking to build 15-25 basses this year, and 30-50 next year. I'm also hoping to be able to take on a part time apprentice this summer, and even more next year.