SMB-4D Humbucker In A Music Man S.U.B. (2004/5ish)

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by srambo590, Sep 21, 2016.

1. Hey fellas, complete newb to these forums and the world of guitar modification. I've lurked these boards over the years and figured you'd be the best crowd to ask before paying a tech at a store. I want to update the humbucker in my Musicman S.U.B. to a Seymour Duncan SMB-4D. It seemed simple enough until I opened up the bass and the wiring is completely different than what I expected. The included diagram says it's as simple as attaching the red & black cables to the active input ground and all the others to the bass pot, however the current stock configuration has a white & black cable running from the humbucker to the pre-amp only. I'm not at all sure what I should do here. Am I biting off more than I can chew? Is it even possible to install this humbucker on this bass? I've included the link to an image gallery below. Any help or info would be greatly appreciated!

Dropbox - SUB SD

2. Having not personally changed one of these, I can`t give you specifics. I can say that the new pickup will be able to be wired to the preamp just fine, the extra wires just make a little more work. Might be a good time to think about a series/parallel/single switch for the pickup as well.

-Jake

srambo590 likes this.
  3. I'm a minimalist, would it be a terrible idea to go full-on passive and completely abandon the preamp altogether?

4. That's a loaded question. It's possible to go passive with it. But a Stingray without a preamp doesn't sound quite right to a lot of people who like stingrays.

5. Zoobiedood

Zoobiedood Commercial User

Sep 1, 2015
    Writer/Ambassador/Artist/Resident Bass Expert for Seymour Duncan