1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Smithereens were a great band, R.I.P. Pat Dinizio.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Bipslapper, Dec 13, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bipslapper

Bipslapper Well Ahoy, Paloi

Sep 20, 2009
    Cape Cod, MA
    I started playing bass in 1985 and a couple years later, in college heard "Blood and Roses" on the Umass radio station. Cool band, great songs and from New Jersey (like me originally). Sadly, lead songwriter and lead vocalist, Pat Dinizio passed away today at the young age of 62.
    Original bass player, Mike Mesaros, had a unique style, especially on their break through album and I was a big fan. Got to meet the band in 1988 when I was working at the Umass performing arts center and their roadie let me play his P-bass through his rig pre-gig. What at thrill playing "Blood and Roses" loud and proud. The guitarists played Rickenbacker at that time, which was also cool and sometimes all three stringed instruments on stage were Rics. Wish we had more bands like the Smithereens, rest in peace Pat.

Pat DiNizio, Smithereens Singer, Dead at 62

2. Stewie26

Stewie26 Supporting Member

RIP Pat. 62 is way too young.
    BTW. Blood and Roses is a great song with a super fun bass line. We played this in my old band.

3. MonetBass

MonetBass ♪ Just listen ♫ Supporting Member

Sep 15, 2006
    Tulsa, OK
    Wow, I didn't realize Pat had gotten so big. RIP.

4. DirtDog

DirtDog

Jun 7, 2002
    The Deep North
    RIP. I was a big Smithereens fan and that music turned me on to one of my all time faves: Guadalcanal Diary.

5. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    Girl Like You....one of my favorite songs ever.
    I was a senior in high school when that song came out. We used to go cruising Friday nights, and I'd be blaring that song from the CD player in my Mazda 626.