1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

"Smokin deal" as the salesman said?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by afiaowo, Apr 7, 2006.

1. afiaowo

afiaowo

Jan 9, 2006
    Still searching for my first bass. The board has been so much help in getting an ex-guitar player started on bass.
    I went back to my local store seeing what I liked and picked up an American P. The thing sings acoustically. It was like a tuning fork no matter where you played on the neck.
    He said (and I don't doubt him) that they were sitting on the guitar for a while and wanted to sell it. He offered it to me for $630 out the door with case etc. Is this as good of a deal as he says? I ask because I'm a older student who's not working but could come up with the money if this is as good as it sounds.
    Thanks you guys for proving such great reading on TB.

2. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    If that's new, then that's a heck of deal! I would definitely take it. It's still a decent price if it's used, too, but new Americans go for ~$900.

3. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta (Grant Park!)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    Don't listen to the 'Duck, he's crazy! You're being ripped off! Btw, what's the name and phone # of this store? Just out of curiosity, of course. :bag:

4. Mark Wilson

Mark Wilson Supporting Member

Jan 12, 2005
    Toronto, Ontario
    Endorsing Artist: Elixir® Strings
    Killer deal. Too bad "singed" isn't a word.

:p

-Mark

5. afiaowo

afiaowo

Jan 9, 2006
    Thank you all for the confirmation on the price.

Singed is a word but one that was totally inappropriate for the post. Singed is to burn superficially or lightly. Thanks for pointed that out for me Mark.

6. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA