Smooth Fuzz

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Morningside, Dec 6, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Morningside

Morningside Supporting Member

Nov 14, 2013
    Seattle
    I'm looking for a smooth, warm, horn-like fuzz, particularly to use with my Pawn Shop Bass VI as a lead or semi-lead instrument. I'll be playing it over relatively clean guitars and a second clean bass. Some fuzz pedals seem to provide a spiky, aggressive, crumbling sound, which has its uses, but wouldn't fit my current needs.

One thing I don't necessarily need is a bass-specific pedal with a mix knob. Since I'm not currently planning to use this in a traditional bass role, I'm not too worried about incorporating a dry signal or losing low frequencies.

The perfect example of what I'm looking to achieve is the fuzz bass in the Beatles' "Think for Yourself."

Any suggestions? I'm a fuzz newbie, and while I've done enough research to get a sense of the basic options (most pedals seem to be modeled on the Tonebender, Big Muff or Fuzz Face), input here would be great. Thanks!

2. Matt Dean

Matt Dean Supporting Member

Jan 2, 2007
    SF (North) Bay Area
    Wren & Cuff Tri Pie

Morningside and chenor like this.
  3. chenor

chenor

Sep 5, 2006
    NYC
    Tri pie creamy smooth muff based fuzz

Morningside likes this.
  4. shinybeast

shinybeast

Apr 1, 2014
    You might want to check out Oxfuzz as an alternative to muff-based pedals--either the bass version or the germanium version might suit your purposes.

Morningside likes this.
  5. dannybuoy

dannybuoy

Aug 3, 2005
    Earth

If that is fuzz bass and not guitar (there is clean bass already behind it) than that sounds like an octave up kind of fuzz, like a Superfuzz or Brassmaster. They are typically harsh sounding pedals, but can be quite soft sounding at low gain and played into a tube amp into a cab without tweeters, or if you find a variant with tone shaping or even use an EQ pedal after it. Check out the Wounded Paw Attack Goat perhaps?