Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Smoother Bass runs/solos.

Discussion in 'Ask Michael Dimin' started by mjl422, Oct 29, 2003.

1. mjl422

mjl422

Jul 3, 2002
    Any advise on how to smooth out bass runs and solos? I've been playing for about 6 yrs. now and can't seem to smooth out my runs. I seem to play my notes very stacatto(sp). sort of like Jaco or Rocco. I'm trying to get my runs a little more fluid. I hear some bass players whose phrasing and fluidity almost sound like the human voice. What do I need to work on to get more fluid?

2. Maybe it could be your attacks. What kind of strokes do you use? A metronome can come in handy for you and you'll be ripping it up in no time!:bassist:

3. Oh, and I forgot, try adding in a little legato as well. If you want to hear real fluid runs, listen to guitarist Allan Holdsworth. He bases his entire style on systematic legato phrasing in which the fingerings of the hammer on's and pull off's give momentum to the runs. It's really 'liquid' in quality because there's hardly any right hand attacks. The catch is that your hammer on's and pull off's have to sound as convincing as your plucked notes of which can take some practice to achieve.

If you've seen the Bass Day '98 video, Victor Wooten also shows you how you can do runs with his "down up pluck pluck" method in which the first attack is a downstroke of the thumb, then an upstroke with the thumb, then a pluck with the index and then a pluck with the middle finger. For each attack, you would play a different note.

When it comes to scales do "spirals/coils":
    eg G A B C D E, then A B C D E F#, then B C D E F# G, then C D E F# G A, etc...but you have to play them all continously without stopping.

I hope this helps..

4. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin

Dec 11, 1999
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"