smoothing out 16th notes

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by somethingshort, Oct 13, 2003.

1. somethingshort

Aug 22, 2003
    Howdy ho, just had a question about fingerstyle technique. Ive been playing bass for like 3-4 months now and I can't quite get a smoothing sounding series of 16th notes. It only happens to me really when I'm playing on a single string, rather than multiple switches..dunno why. The sound that I get isn't really bad sounding but it doesnt sound fluid, it sounds like a really syncopated line instead of being smoother. I was thinking I may be digging in to much or playing to hard, but what constitutes hard? Right now I place my thumb on a pickup and then use the area in between my fingertip and finger flat to sound the strings. Should I try using more finger flat for a smoother sound? Ive played guitar for 6 years now so my left hand is doing great, just need some tips on how to get my right hand in gear with bass.
  2. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    16th and faster (!) notes come smoothly with practice, practice, and more practice. Are you playing with a metronome? A good way to get your notes sounding smoother is to set your metronome WAY slow, maybe 50 bpm, and play a series of 16th notes. Then, bump up the tempo, and repeat until you are going faster. Then, you guessed it, slow down your metronome and start all over. Smooth sixteenth notes are all timing.
  3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Yeah, if you can't do it slowly, what makes you think you will be able to do it quickly?

you gotta just practice, going slowly, with a metronome focusing on evenness and clarity, work through scales, songs, whatever with 16th notes.

They key is to do it slowly though, and master that first, then speeding up will be easy.
  4. stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    I have the same problem with 16th notes. Drives me nuts.